Revit: Tips, Tricks, and Troubleshooting

– [Instructor] This week I want to talk to you about an exciting new feature in the Bim 360 Design platform. So Bim 360 Design is an online platform that allows users to enable work sharing in the cloud. So you can turn on work sharing for your Revit projects, but host those central models up in the cloud and then users can access that cloud based work share model from anywhere, either from within your office, from another office across the country or even anywhere around the globe. So it’s a very powerful collaboration platform that allows us to expand our project teams greatly. Now if you’re not yet using Bim 360 Design and you want to learn more about it, I have an entire course on the subject here in the library and so I welcome you to check that out to learn more about tool set and the feature and how everything works there and kind of see if it’s for you. So meanwhile, I’m going to talk about the new feature now that’s just been added to Bim 360 Design and that is the ability to upgrade cloud based work sharing models. Now this is actually a significant new feature because previously if you had a cloud based work share model and you wanted to upgrade it to the next release of Revit, it was a very tedious and manual process to get that file upgraded. What I want to do is I am logged in as myself here in my Bim 360 Design portal. I’m in a project called KinetECO and I’m in the Document Management module at the moment. Now in the Document Management module I can see project files and then each of the disciplines within this project and I’ll click my Architecture folder just to show you a couple of the files that are in here. Now the example that I’m going to show you is a very, very simple project with just two files, but in your own projects chances are if you’re using Bim 360 Design you probably have more than one Revit cloud model in your portal and you probably have lots of links and maybe lots of disciplines. It’s going to be the stuff that I show you amplified, right? So, let me come over here and select this file just to kind of show you really quick what it is. This is just a simple building that we can see here in this viewer. If I close out of here and then I go to the Shared folder and then I click this one, this is the site that that building sits on and, you know, you could see the building would go right about there near that parking lot. So, for this example I have just these two simple files. Okay, a small building and a small site and they are linked together. But even with just these two files, here’s the basic steps I would have to follow doing this manually. I would have to go to the file, use this little menu here, and download the source file. I’d have to do that for each file. Once I had downloaded those to my hard drive, then I would have to open them up in the new version of Revit and let them upgrade. Then I’d have to go out to my Bim 360 Design portal and create an entirely new project because each Bim 360 Design project only supports one version of Revit at a time. So I wouldn’t be able to re-save over the existing files because they would be still in the previous version of Revit. So instead, I’d have to create a whole new project, re-upload the files to this project, re-enable cloud based work sharing, re-establish the links. So there’s a lot of steps, a lot of chances for errors to occur, and overall it’s just a very tedious process. So instead now what we can do with this new feature is I can come up here to my Module Picker and I can go to Project Admin. Once I’m here in Project Admin, you will go to the Services tab if you’re not there already and then on Services we have several sub-tabs. Activity, Advanced Settings, Reviews, and then right here Revit Cloud Model Upgrade. And you can see it’s still considered a preview feature, but I’m going to click on that and, you know, there’s a note right here for more information. But I’m going to give it a minute because it’s going to scan my project looking for Revit cloud models that are eligible for upgrade. So as you can see here, it said that it found some in the current 2018 release and it says the available release is Revit 2019. So now all I have to do is click this Upgrade button. Now it will, you know, give me some warnings here, team members can’t save changes during the upgrade. The upgrade will take some time and then I’ll obviously need the newer Revit release in order to open those models. So, there’s nothing about a cloud model that makes, that changes the basic functionality of Revit. Revit can only open the current release and previous releases. It can’t open something newer and you can’t save back again. So once you’ve done this, you can’t change your mind and go back. So, I’m going to check this box to say I’ve read all this and let’s go through with the upgrade. So, it’s saying, again, that this can take a while and I’m going to get a little progress wheel while it’s working. Now after you click the Upgrade Process, you should get an email letting you know that the process is underway and it will remind you that team members can’t save changes while the upgrade is taking place. Once the process is complete, you’ll get a second email that will look something like this. It will tell you that the project has completed and there’ll even a be a little Review button right here that you could use to go out and look at the results. I’m going to just simply close out of there and then back here in my portal, I’ll get another message right here that says that the cloud model upgrade is complete. So now all I need to do is go back to my Document Management module and what you’ll see is that these files are still right where we left them in the same locations. We’ve got this one right here. It’s still here. Now if you were to go into Revit 2019, you would now see this project, KinetECO, and you’d see these files in those same locations and you’d be able to open them up and continue working on them in work sharing. So just keep in mind though, that now everybody on the project has to be on Revit 2019. They will not longer be able to access the project files using 2018, but if they go into 2019 all the files are there. They’re in exactly the same locations that they remember them being and even though the process took a little while, it was far easier and quicker than it would be had you had to do it manually.

Read moreā€¦

Leave a Reply